Skip to content

Three Uses for Expired Yogurt

August 10, 2010

Share

My father often complains that after purchasing yogurt in the supermarket, it stays in the fridge until it expires, then has to be thrown out. Yogurt is a dairy product produced by bacterial fermentation of milk. Fermentation of lactose produces lactic acid, which acts on milk protein to give yogurt its texture and its characteristic tang. The product has a very short shelf life.
I thought it was necessary to research uses for expired yogurt. I hate seeing food go to waste. We are in a recession, after all.

Use it on your skin

Yogurt, when consumed is very good for the skin. The same can be said for applying it directly to your skin. Just warm for a few seconds in your microwave and put it on your face. Allow 20 minutes for it to dry and rinse with warm water. This helps to deep clean and tighten the pores.

For those of you with acne problems (like myself), mix two tablespoons yogurt with some oats and lime juice and apply to your face. I did this just before writing this post and I was impressed with the look of my face after rinsing it off. My skin was very smooth. I can’t say much for the acne treatment because my skin has cleared up. I should be breaking out again in about two weeks though, so I’ll try it then.

For quick, temporary relief of mild sunburn, apply cold plain yogurt to the affected area. The yogurt adds much needed moisture and, at the same time, its coldness soothes. Rinse with cool water.

Use it in the garden

This is also true for expired milk. Simply dilute the yogurt with water in a 50:50 ratio and use the solution to water your plants. It is claimed that this makes fruits and vegetables tastier and makes flowered plants more vivid. When I told my mother about this, she said she’d give it a try. I look forward to seeing the results.

Feed it to the pets

My veterinarian at JSPCA advised me that it can be very beneficial to feed my puppies yogurt once or twice a month. When I asked him if it’s safe to feed them expired yogurt, he responded “expired yogurt is the best kind to feed dogs and cats”. The bacteria present in the product helps in regulating their digestive system, thus alleviating problems with vomiting, diarrhea and flatulence. I mix about a quarter cup of yogurt with a tablespoon of glucose powder for each dog (glucose powder provides extra energy). My puppies really love the taste of it and lap it up within a few seconds.

These are just three uses for expired yogurt, but I found many more in my research, including using it to shave your legs and getting the prefect front lawn.

Share

Share on Facebook

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bree permalink
    August 11, 2010 10:20 pm

    When i get a new dog imma try that 3rd one …
    Nice one fran

  2. Michelle permalink
    August 12, 2010 1:29 pm

    thumbs up =) I like this

  3. August 13, 2010 8:47 pm

    I didn’t know it could have been used on skin. I was on my holiday weekend a week ago and was offered expired yogurt and refused it. Thanks for all these uses – could have done something with it.

    The skin use is very unique.

  4. August 14, 2010 5:05 pm

    very interesting and informative, especially the benefits of feeding it to pets.

Leave a Reply

