Skip to content

Trends in 2010

July 20, 2010

This may come as a surprise, because I’m not really into fashion. But this post incorporates both music and fashion, so it’s all good. I’ve always said that the crown for the King of the Dancehall is sitting on the wrong head. It’s really not Beenie Man at all, is it? It’s Mr. Adidja Palmer that seems to monopolize the industry. All of a sudden, everyone’s wearing Clarks; everyone’s saying “oh!” in that special way and I’ve even had instances of people quoting random Kartel lyrics while talking to me. Hate him or love him, Vybz Kartel is the King.

So what I wanted to write about today are a few trends that I’ve seen recently. Some I like, some I detest.

G-Shock Watches

These watches are often frequented on the wrists of Diddy’s children and according to Vybz Kartel, they’re “timeless”. G-Shock is a brand of watches manufactured by Casio (yes, the same people that make your calculator), known for its resistance to shocks, knocks and strong vibrations. Personally, I don’t see why everybody’s been raving about them; I didn’t even know they existed until Straight Jeans and Fitted came out. One day, I was in a taxi and I overheard a young man saying that “di watch dem sick, yute, haffi get me a G-Shock”. I quickly pulled out my phone and did an image search and I was disappointed. Personally, I think they look cheap and tacky. I hate that they’re plastic; I hate that they’re digital and I hate that they just look like giant stopwatches.

Gladiators

Also known as “Jesus slippers”. LOL actually no, nobody calls them that except KandiiLeena. But anyway, this trend has been around for a while. I didn’t like it at first, but now I happen to own a pair of gladiator flats and I really like them. With gladiators, you have to be careful, because while some of them look really cute when paired with skinny jeans or a nice dress, others can look really cheap and horrid. Also, please ensure that your toenails look presentable while wearing gladiators. I think gladiator heels are really sexy! My mother owns a pair and I would steal them if they could fit me. Gladiator boots are just ridiculous and should be illegal.

Plaid Flannel Shirts

I LOVE plaid, on both men and women. I especially love plaid, button up shirts that have become so popular recently. I’ve seen long-sleeved ones, short-sleeved ones and long-sleeved ones rolled up to look like short-sleeved ones. These shirts are very versatile. they look great with skinny jeans or with short shorts and they can be worn as shirt dresses as well.

It’s not just plaid that’s been trending, argyle is becoming more popular, as well as polka dots and stripes.

The Graphic Tee/Skinny Jeans combo

This is a staple for me. I’m often found wearing a graphic tee, skinny jeans, studded belt and a pair of Converses or gladiator flats. Boys can be seen wearing them with Supras. This is another versatile look. You can wear the same skinnies day after day and just wear a different top. It’s a really casual look and I love it. I think it was popularized by girl rockers like Hayley Williams and Cassadee Pope and then even more popularized by the New Boyz.

Nerd Glasses

I don’t like this one. It’s annoying because people are intentionally putting tape on the glasses even though they aren’t broken, just to achieve the “nerd look”. Personally, I don’t wear any type of glasses, although I have a pair of wayfarers that jae52 got me for my birthday earlier this year. I do like wayfarers and I like oversize sunglasses, but I don’t like the nerdy glasses trend. Maybe it’s because i genuinely liked nerds before they become a fad. I’ve never been brave enough to wear any kind of glasses, in the same way that I’ve never been brave enough to wear red; or to wear animal prints or short shorts.

xoxo,

Fran.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Darrieux Gordon permalink
    July 20, 2010 4:49 pm

    I liked this… You did good. The G-Shock watches are OK..but i don’t own one and i never wanna(not that i won’t accept it if it were a gift -a very cheesy gift that would be). Never heard of Gladiators though… Love plaid!!!(Own a few Plaid shirts)… I like the nerd look, which has become very popular especially inJa thanks to “Ding Dong”…. But overall i loved this post.

  2. July 20, 2010 5:10 pm

    Wow! You should blog about fashion more often. I really liked this and you made me giggle a few times, as always. You should have probably gone more in-depth with glasses because they’re VERY trendy right now.
    Good job though!

  3. sopheskinnywishes permalink
    July 20, 2010 5:33 pm

    awesome blog post honey. πŸ™‚ i love reading them each time you make one

  4. July 20, 2010 7:33 pm

    You got a new blog theme, I like it its clean lol
    I disagree wid u abt the g shocks my bf has one and I love it on him. I love the nerd glasses on him 2 but everyone entitled 2 their opinions.
    I have gladiator boots but it doesnt look like the 1 in the pic, i like the 1 that I have.
    Love the plaid shirts too!
    And yh kartel a di king! LOL gaza mi seh!

  5. July 24, 2010 10:57 pm

    who the hell wrote……………its crazy genius!! love it!

  6. Lawless Pebbles permalink
    July 27, 2010 11:43 am

    I love this blog πŸ™‚ … and i totally agree with u .. I hate those hideous watches .. UGH!!! I simply adore Plaid ^_^ … Gladiators on the other hand aint my cup of tea … but they look cute on certain people πŸ™‚ … Nerd Glasses <—- LOL Hilar … i only wore one ONCE n took a pic in it .. I like them but u kno … some ppl jus ave 2 OD d ting -___-…. Nice Blog Fran …. #SheerGenius ^_^

  7. Shanarific permalink
    July 28, 2010 10:57 pm

    i soo love this fran!….you should write about fashion more often darlz. You’re so awesome and i envy your writing skills. Love you

  8. July 31, 2010 1:46 pm

    MAWD! love d post. and d pics that accompany the article are genius, helps all dem fashion lost ppl. well, must say i was lost sometimes. nyway, did i sa da i lurved the post? ❀

Leave a Reply

