Skip to content

The Bucket List

June 13, 2010

I recently tweeted about my affinity for wearing polo shirts, which got a reply from a friend saying that she also wears polo shirts while she’s riding horses. It made me think that I’ve never ridden a horse before and that’s a real shame. When I told her this she replied:

It made me smile and I told her that she’d inspired my next blog post.

I don’t know how many of you have actually watched the movie, The Bucket List, but it’s one of my favourites. It stars Morgan Freeman (who I really respect as an actor) and Jack Nicholson (who I have a strange old man crush on). The main plot follows two terminally ill men on their road trip with a wish list of things to do before they “kick the bucket”.

I’m an obsessive list maker. I literally can’t do anything without making a list first. It makes me feel organized and I really get a rush out of crossing off items that I’ve completed. I have a special book where I make my lists; if I don’t have the book at a certain moment, I write on whatever I can find, usually napkins or my skin, then transfer it to the book as soon as I can.

I really hope I can cross off everything on this list before I kick the bucket! I’m going to put some things I’ve already done, just so I can look cool and to give myself some motivation.

  • Ride a horse.
  • Publish a book.
  • Sing in front of an audience.
  • Publicly embarrass myself for charity.
  • Experience life in an impoverished African/South American village.
  • Get a tattoo.
  • Do something spontaneously rebellious (done!)
  • Become certified in first aid. (done!)
  • Earn a doctorate in something
  • Visit Europe. (done!)
  • Go skydiving.
  • Become fluent in a foreign language.
  • Become really good at playing a guitar.
  • Give birth.
  • Participate in an athletic competition.
  • Swim a distance equivalent to the English Channel

When making a list, I usually set myself a deadline for when I should have crossed everything off. Unfortunately, I can’t do that with this list. I don’t know how much time I have left, so I should probably get to work.

PostScript: I want to literally “dead wid laugh”, that’s how I want to kick the bucket.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2010 8:18 pm

    Hey Fran, I’m working on that guitar playing one, you better start now, cos it takes a while! Good Luck with the list!

  2. June 13, 2010 9:25 pm

    ‘giving birth’ petrified at doing that one :s

  3. June 15, 2010 12:11 am

    I started taking guitar lessons when I was 12, but I didn’t persevere.
    It’s one thing I really regret and I plan to change that soon.

    I think giving birth is amazing.
    Like if it wasn’t for me, an entire human being would not exist.
    I caused this human being to exist.
    I really want to experience that.
    …Ten years from now.

  4. shanzzjheanzz permalink
    August 2, 2010 1:57 pm

    oh yh and marry shantel watkins…lmao #gaypride!

  5. shanzzjheanzz permalink
    August 2, 2010 2:00 pm

    um Bucket List is a really good movie..kudos to you frann and um i think everyone should make lists..it really helps..its time consuming and also makes u really organised.

  6. SexyChev permalink
    August 10, 2010 10:55 pm

    yuh did run on sports day so u can cross off d athletic thing cuz trust me dats d closet u’ll eva get

Leave a Reply

