Skip to content

Album Reviews – Jordin Sparks, Lil Wayne, Ludacris

June 5, 2010

I do not like Jordin Sparks. I never have. Even from her days on American Idol back in 2007 (I would have preferred if Sanjaya had won) and I thought her debut album was mediocre at best. But now she has given me a reason to absolutely detest her. Don’t ask me why her new album Battlefield is on my iPod when I don’t like her; it’s really a long irrelevant story.

So anyway, it was the usual, boring Friday night and the iPod was on shuffle. Suddenly, I see Do Not Let It Go To Your Head by Jordin Sparks. I was about to skip it but then I thought to myself hmm, that’s funny, Fefe Dobson has a song by the same name. Then she started singing the first line. “So what if I came clean, and told you all you mean to me”. My mouth literally fell open in shock and disgust.

Why is Jordin Sparks covering Fefe Dobson’s song? My mind conjured images of teeny boopers saying “like OMG you guys, don’t you just love Jordin’s new song? It’s great!” and me gritting my teeth, telling them it’s actually Fefe Dobson’s song. To which, of course, they would reply “Who the hell is Fefe Dobson?”

There’s really no point to me reviewing a Jordin Sparks album because I won’t have anything good to say. Then I’ll be accused of being a “hater” and I’ll roll my eyes in apathy. I was only having a rant.

Moving right along...

I’ll never have anything bad to say about Lil Wayne; I honestly think he’s the best rapper in the business right now. I don’t like rap music, primarily because the subject of the songs is usually something shallow. I just find rap music to be obnoxious in general, but of course there are exceptions to every rule. My exceptions right now are Eminem, Lil Wayne and Ludacris. I’m usually not a fan of female rappers, but I really like Nicki Minaj at the moment.

Lil Wayne’s new album, Rebirth is nothing short of amazing. It’s a little different from his previous albums, mainly because the songs have a more alternative rock sound to them. I heard his single Drop The World on the radio and I thought it was the typical Lil Wayne song and I loved the inclusion of Eminem. Then I heard Knockout (featuring Nicki Minaj) and I absolutely loved it! I loved that it had that rock sound and I loved the guitars and drums in the back and I loved that Nicki was singing rather than just rapping. So I just had to purchase (yes, purchase!) his album off iTunes. I rated all the songs with at least 3 stars and quite a few of them have 4. I rated two songs with five stars, Runnin’ and Hot Revolver. I loved that he stole a line from Green Day’s 1994 single Basketcase (Do you have the time to listen to me whine? I used to be obsessed with Green Day). Also, I can definitely relate to the lyrics in Hot Revolver.

I’ve always been supportive of rap/rock fusions (Linkin Park with Jay-Z etc.), which is why I give Rebirth a 9 out of 10.

Ludacris’ new album, Battle of the Sexes is pretty good as well. I’m not a fan of Ludacris, especially after hearing How Low (rated 1 star)on the radio more times than I can count, then hearing My Chick Bad (rated 2 stars), but I still decided to purchase (yes, purchase!) his album on iTunes. The first song I listened to was Sexting, which is a bonus track, and it changed my opinion about him. I rated it 4 stars simply because it made me laugh and I thought the lyrics were well put together. Another good song is I Know You Got A Man featuring Flo Rida. I gave Feelin’ So Sexy 3 stars, Sex Room (featuring Trey Songz) 3 stars and Can’t Live With You (featuring Monica) 4 stars because I can relate to it. The album features a lot of (basic) female rappers talking about the size of their ass, the high quality of their weave and one even mentioned that she has “a pussy like Fiji”. As I said, I’m not a fan of Luda, but I’m still giving Battle of the Sexes a 6.5 out of 10.

Fran

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2010 12:42 pm

    I’m one of those persons that would reply “who the hell is Fefe Dobson” LOL
    I like Jordin Sparks though, idk why you don’t like her.
    Lil Wayne is da boss! Lol and Luda’s alright.

  2. Neil permalink
    June 8, 2010 12:10 pm

    (Y)

  3. June 10, 2010 12:03 am

    LOL @ I would have preferred if Sanjaya had won.
    I think this was an excellent review.
    Although, you just don’t strike me as the type that listens to rap.
    It’s good to be eclectic though.

  4. abbey permalink
    August 11, 2010 6:39 pm

    as in i toltallllyy ❤ ❤ Fefe Dobson cant believe Jordin did that …ughh ma level of respect for her jus fell

Leave a Reply

