Skip to content

Songs Currently Stuck In My Head

May 22, 2010

Hold Yuh (remix) – Gyptian featuring Nicki Minaj

Ohmygod this song! Gyptian’s voice is amazing as always and I really appreciate Nicki’s attempt at creating a Jamaican vibe. The song is sexy with a good beat; not what you’d expect from a “conscious yute” like Gyptian but somehow it works.

Teenage Dirtbag – Wheatus

Her boyfriend’s a dick and he brings a gun to school.

People often mix up this less popular band with the more popular band Weezer. This song appeals to the loser in all of us, bringing hope to geeks and outcasts everywhere.

No Scrubs – TLC

Wanna get with me with no money? Oh no!

Throwback!

Littlest Things – Lily Allen

I was just so happy in your boxers and your t-shirt.

This song is about missing your ex. And we all know what that’s like.


One Girl Revolution – Superchick

I wear a disguise; I’m just your average Jane.

It’s all about girl power, confidence and finding your voice. Very catchy and I think it was in some movie’s soundtrack.

Bottom of the Barrel – Tifa

Some gyal face red like Christmas sorrel, and dem body black like tamarind seed.

A Thing For Me – Metronomy

You’ve got my heart, you know?

I got the video for this song free off iTunes a few months ago. It’s not a very good song, but it’s so catchy.


The Human Hosepipe – Harry and the Potters

I’d rather not talk about your dead ex-boyfriends over coffee.

Harry and the Potters is a really lame, cheesy pseudo-band that sings about the events that happen in the Harry Potter books. This song is about Cho Chang and her habit of randomly bursting into tears on a date with Harry on Valentine’s Day.

Backstabbin’ Betty – Cage The Elephant

His woman truly was a devil…

This song has made its way into my Top 25 Most Played playlist. Good beat, good vocals and it tells a story. The profane lyrics are also good.

So Nice, So Smart – Kimya Dawson

I like boys with strong convictions and convicts with perfect diction; underdogs with good intentions, amputees with stamp collections. Plywood skimboards ride the ocean; salty noses, suntan lotion. Always seriously joking and rambunctiously soft-spoken. I like boys that like their mothers and I have a thing for brothers. But they always wait ‘til we’re under the covers to say “I’m sure glad we’re not lovers”.

This was on the Juno soundtrack. Kimya Dawson usually has a nice sound, witty lyrics and a catchy beat. This song is no exception.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gabrielle permalink
    May 22, 2010 1:38 pm

    I love your taste in music 🙂
    Very eclectic.

  2. Jamie permalink
    May 25, 2010 10:25 am

    I downloaded every single one of these songs!
    And I love them all, thank you for introducing these to me.

Leave a Reply

