Skip to content

Growing Up

May 5, 2010

I recently visited with some relatives and got the usual barrage of comments regarding how much I’ve grown. Well, I’m still a modest 5 feet flat and I can still fit into the same clothes I was wearing when I was 11. But what my grand aunt was referring to was my intellectual growth; my growth as a human being. The fact that I could hold a conversation with her despite the obvious generation gap. My knowledge of things she considered way beyond my years.

I’ve grown a lot since September morning of 2009 and a lot has happened since then. I’ve discovered things about myself, found out things I could do, reached new heights and capabilities. I’m actually quite proud of myself.

I conquered my fear of public speaking and became a member of my school’s debating team. We won the trophy for the Correctional Services Debating Competition and placed third in the KLAS National Schools Sports Debate. I honed my skills as both a writer and an orator and maybe I’ll use those skills in the future. After Wolmers’ disappointing performance in Schools Challenge Quiz, I was asked by many people why I’m not on the quiz team. I intend to try out next year, not sure if I’ll make the cut but, I’m definitely going to try.

I also conquered my ridiculous body consciousness and joined the swim team.

This school year was all about building up my resumé; joining clubs and societies, gaining leadership positions, sports teams, getting community service hours etc.

It bothered me that I drifted away from friends that I was so close to just a year ago. I suddenly realized that we had become different people. It’s not that I don’t like them; it’s just that our interests are different. Our priorities are different. Our goals are different.

It bothered me that i ended my relationship with my boyfriend of a year and a half. It’s not that I don’t like him; it’s just that our interests are different. Our priorities are different. Our goals are different.

And I often wonder why all this happened. Why did I become different? Or is it that they became different? For some reason, we just weren’t the same anymore and I had to let them all go, for all our sakes.

The new relationships I’ve made this year have also caused me to grow. I’ve met new people from all over, with all kinds of interesting things to share with me.I’ve been introduced to different things, different types of food, different types of music; I’ve become more open-minded than ever, more daring than ever, more alive than ever. I love trying new things now. I’m not nervous or afraid I’ll look stupid anymore. Because isn’t that what life’s all about? Taking chances, learning, experiencing, growing up.

Dammit – blink182

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 5:49 pm

    i like the blog its good that u have grown. May person do not find there full potential until after high school, so lets say your one of the lucky ones. When looking back in the future, you can be able to say that you are able to do x, y or z based on your risk taking ability at wolmers.

  2. Carla permalink
    May 6, 2010 5:41 pm

    fran i luv <3, imma join debate n swim nxt yr xD

  3. June 10, 2010 12:09 am

    This is my favourite blog post of yours,
    Except maybe men are from mars lol
    I’m an avid reader, keep em comin!

Leave a Reply

