Skip to content

Welcome!

March 7, 2010

Alas, my first blog post. The closest thing I’ve had to a blog is my MySpace blog, when I was 13. I also wrote quite a few notes on Facebook. However, I deactivated my Facebook about five months ago, with no intentions of returning. Facebook irks my soul.

There’s a lot of stuff packed into this pretty little head and I’m dying to let it out. I’ve been complimented on my writing before, so I thought, “why not blog?”

The excuses I’ve concocted for NOT blogging have been pretty pathetic. I’m busy. Nobody’s gonna read it. I won’t maintain it, I don’t know what to write about. I’ll address those excuses respectively.

I’m not busy. I find time to do the things I want to do; blogging should be no different. Sure, I’m involved in a lot of stuff and I have quite a few responsibilities, but I’ll manage.

I don’t really care if nobody reads it. It’s for my own personal benefit. Yeah, I’d love if people read it and comment and all that jazz. But it wouldn’t be a travesty if they don’t.

I won’t maintain it? I WILL maintain it. #thatisall

There are about 2387562147908136758865430932 things in the world to write about. Surely, I can find something that tickles my fancy.

So I’m going to do it, instead of taking the easy way out and obsessively “micro-blogging” on Twitter.

And I can guarantee:

  1. My rants are hilarious; or so I’ve been told.
  2. An interesting point of view on current affairs and happenings in Jamaica and the world.
  3. Impeccable taste in books, movies and music, which I plan to review.
  4. I will NEVER publish a post with any spelling, grammatical or typographical errors.
  5. I will update at least once a month.
  6. Controversial way of thinking. Well that’s what my Communication Studies teacher told me before she (irately) sent me out of her class. I’ve been called controversial on several other occasions as well. What do you think?

I can’t wait!

Ttyl,

XOXO Frann.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. CariQue permalink
    March 7, 2010 6:28 pm

    hey Fran, it’s Carla. yay 4 u, i’ll try n read it just bcuz its u lol

  2. Kevin permalink
    March 7, 2010 10:30 pm

    Well done Fran! I’m quite proud of you for this. Saw your tweet and I just had to check it out.
    Keep it up!

  3. Loriann permalink
    March 8, 2010 12:22 am

    LOL I must say I agree with your teacher in regards to your opinions being controversial. I’m looking forward to seeing what you will write. In our discussions I often forget that you’re not even 20 yet, so I’d love to see what that brain of yours comes up with!

  4. Jamie permalink
    March 8, 2010 9:43 am

    Glad you finally decided to stop procrastinating and making excuses. I’ve been suggesting you do this for a while; let’s just hope you keep at it (y)

  5. Dwain permalink
    March 9, 2010 2:23 pm

    To your misfortune Francine there is a style error. You do not use ‘gonna’ in formal writing,that is if it inteded to be formal anyway.

  6. March 9, 2010 3:11 pm

    Thanks so much for the support, everybody!
    And Dwain, no, this is not formal writing. Believe me, I’m well aware of when it is appropriate to use ‘gonna’.
    Thanks for your insight though.

  7. Marley_C permalink
    August 1, 2010 8:22 am

    I’m not a direct friend of yours but your blogs is one of the few I actually enjoy reading! (never thought I’d say that again). So consider me a… Fan? Groupie? Hmmm -shruggs- what ever you call your readers that’s what I am most definately ^_^

  8. August 10, 2010 12:45 pm

    Do you actually pay for all these expansion done to your blog site ?

  9. August 10, 2010 3:10 pm

    I’m sorry, I don’t know which “expansions” you’re referring to.

  10. SexyChev permalink
    August 10, 2010 11:20 pm

    aawwwwwwwww hun!!!!! i’m so in love wit ur blog rite now i’m gonna dump sara 4 u

Leave a Reply

